Spaceman meets the Beatles

Ace Frehley has taken a spin on the Beatles rocker, “I’m Down.” The tune is being released as the second track from his upcoming covers album ‘Origins, Vol. 2.’

Originally released in 1965, the Paul McCartney-penned track was the B-side of the Beatles’ single, “Help!.” Frehley enlisted the help of Rob Zombie guitarist John 5 on his take. Other artists helping out include Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander on “Humble Pie’s “30 Days in the Hole,” Lita Ford adding to the Rolling Stones‘ “Jumpin’ Jack Flash,” and fellow Kiss alumni Bruce Kulick on Jimi Hendrix‘s “Manic Depression.”

Covering other artists’ songs is not something new to Frehley: every one of his solo albums going back to 1978, has included at least one cover. The new album, follows 2016’s ‘Origins, Vol. 1,’ his second collection fully dedicated to songs written by other artists. In an earlier interview, he explained, “The great thing about doing a covers record is I don’t have to write the songs. All I have to do is kind of make it my own, maybe change the solo a little, maybe change the arrangement a little and then get some guest stars.”

‘Origins, Vol. 2’ will be released on September 18, and while Frehley might seem content working on other peoples’ tunes, he did recently reveal that he’s during the COVID-19 lockdown he has also begun work on original material. This would mark his first album of new music since 2018’s ‘Spaceman.’

The first single of the latest release was issued in in July, Frehley’s cover of Deep Purple’s “Space Truckin’.”

You can hear “I’m Down” via the link below

Ace Frehley: Origins Vol. 2 tracklist 

1. Good Times Bad Times (Led Zeppelin)
2. Never In My Life (Mountain)
3. Space Truckin’ (Deep Purple)
4. I’m Down (The Beatles)
5. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (The Rolling Stones)
6. Politician (Cream)
7. Lola (The Kinks)
8. 30 Days In The Hole (Humble Pie)
9. Manic Depression (The Jimi Hendrix Experience)
10. Kicks (Paul Revere & the Raiders)
11. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place (The Animals)
12. She (KISS) [Bonus Track]


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.