Smashing new music from the Pumpkins

The one-off tour/reunion by Smashing Pumpkins is turning out to be something a great deal more. The band confirmed that eight previously announced tracks recorded by the partially-reunited lineup will be released on an album called ‘Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun. on November 16.

The band had originally announced that the material would be launched across two EPs. You can see the album’s track listing and listen to a new song, “Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)” below. The collection of songs were recorded earlier this year with producer Rick Rubin, and marked the first time the band’s classic-era members, Billy Corgan, James Iha and Jimmy Chamberlin, had worked together since 2000. They were joined by Jeff Schroeder in the group. The current lineup does not feature original bassist D’Arcy Wretsky.

Earlier this year, Corgan said, “I would say this is the happiest time of the band. It’s a bit akin to trying to rekindle a romance almost two decades later.” Speaking about the new music, Corgan added, “It just poured out. The magic just picks up where this unit left off.”

The Smashing Pumpkins recently completed their 30th anniversary tour. Their upcoming schedule includes appearances in the U.K. and Italy, with another anniversary celebration in their hometown of Chicago on Nov. 30.

Smashing Pumpkins, ‘Shiny and Oh So Bright Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun’ track listing

1. “Knights of Malta”
2. “Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)”
3. “Travels”
4. “Solara”
5. “Alienation”
6. “Marchin’ On”
7. “With Sympathy”
8. “Seek And You Shall Destroy”


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.