Rock Hall announces 2019 Nominees

The Rock Hall of Fame have announced the nominees for 2019 induction. While there was hope that hard rock / metal acts like Metallica, Judas Priest and Iron Maiden would get recognized, there were some rock acts represented: Def Leppard and Rage Against the Machine, did receive a nomination.

The other acts which made the ballot are, Devo, Janet Jackson, John Prine, Kraftwerk, LL Cool J, MC5, Radiohead, Roxy Music, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Stevie Nicks, The Cure, The Zombies and Todd Rundgren.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. Six out of 15 of the Nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including: Def Leppard, Devo, John Prine, Roxy Music, Stevie Nicks, and Todd Rundgren.

Inductees will be announced in December 2018. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2019 Induction Ceremony, will be held at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York on March 29, 2019.

An international voting body of more than 1000 artists, historians and members of the music industry will receive ballots. As per a statement on the Rock Hall website, “Factors such as an artist’s musical influence on other artists, length and depth of career and the body of work, innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration.”

The Hall will once again offer fans the opportunity to officially participate in the induction selection process. Beginning October 9 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. EST on December 9, 2018, fans can visit to cast votes for who they believe to be most deserving of induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2019 inductees. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.