New Music – Week Of January 22nd 2018

Here’s a quick look at some of the new tracks to hit Mountain City Rock this week on New Music Monday.



Of Mice & Men – Money

Money is the thrid single from the latest effort by Of Mice & Men – the album Defy,  released January 19th.  Here again we have a modern band covering a classic, in either a homage to the track’s creators, Pink Floyd or to extend their reach beyond their core audience.

Here, Of Mice & Men do an admirable job of putting their own stamp  on the track, and bring an intensity to it that makes it their own while still remaining true to the original.






Black Veil Brides – Wake Up

Wake Up is the new single from Black Veil Brides latest Vale, released January 12th. The album revisits the characters from their 2013 concept  album Wretched and Divine and has them reuniting with producer John Feldman in their first release since 2014’s sefl-titled release.









Black Country Communion – Wanderlust

Glenn Hughes, Joe Bonamassa, Jason Bonham and Derek  Sherinian are back together on Wanderlust a track from Black Country Communion‘s first studio effort since 2013, BCCIV.

The album, released in September of 2017, shows Hughes hasn’t lost his shine – his vocals are as crisp as ever unlike some of his contemporaries.

Here again, the four piece teamed with legendary rock producer Kevin Shirley, who’s producing credits include works with Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Aerosmith, Journey and The Black Crowes.





Blackberry Smoke – Flesh and Bone

Georgia country/rock outfit Blackberry Smoke are back with their 6th studio album Find A Light. Flesh and Bone is the first single from the album due out in April 2018.

The collection features  13 new tracks written or co-written by vocalist and guitarist Charlie  Starr who describes the album as the bands most inspired work yet.

Flesh and Bone is a dirty, gritty track – the theme of which centers on human imperfection.

Find A Light is the group’s follow-up to 2016’s Like An Arrow, several track from which can be heard here on Mountain City Rock.




Jeff Scott Soto – Feels Like Forever

Feels Like Forever is the second single from Jeff Scott Soto‘s  sixth solo studio album Retribution. The album’s release in November 2017, was timed to mark the fifteenth anniversary of Jeff’s teaming with Frontiers Music SrL.

The album was co-written and produced with Howie Simon. Joining in for the production are Edu Cominato – Drums, August Zadra – Guitar on “Reign Again”, Stephen Sturm – Guitar on “Reign Again”, Carlos Costa – Bass on “Reign Again”, Paul Mendonca – Guitar, Keyboards, Bass on “Song For Joey”.

Retribution took the team to three studios to capture the magic – The Man Canyon, Agoura Hills, California, The Institute Of Noise, Los Angeles, California, and Daga Music Studios, Brazil.






Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.