Motorhead’s ‘Ace Of Spades’ gets boxed

One of the hardest and heaviest of albums from the one of the hardest and heaviest of bands, is getting set for a new release to celebrate its anniversary. Following last year’s anniversary editions of the seminal ‘Overkill’ and ‘Bomber’ albums, comes the album that helped carve MOTÖRHEAD’s name into rock n’ roll history forever.

It was 1980 when MOTÖRHEAD unleashed ‘Ace Of Spades’ on the world. The album would be a game-changer within the hard rock genre. ‘Ace’ pushed the envelope and musical boundaries, on the way destroying rivals to oblivion. It seemed that the band came together musically, taking elements of metal, punk and hard rock, putting them into a blender, and the result was something that floored the fans and the critics.

Now to celebrate the 40th anniversary, ‘Ace of Spades’ is being offered in new deluxe editions on October 30. The package will come in multiple formats and include hardback book-packs in two CD and triple LP versions, featuring a previously unheard concert from the “Ace Up Your Sleeve” tour, the story of the album and many previously unseen photos. Also, the set will be released as an ultimate fan, collector edition ‘Ace Of Spades’ box set, containing a bevvy of era-specific treasures and some 42 previously unreleased tracks.

Here’s what you’ll get with the ‘Ace Of Spades’ deluxe box set:
* The ‘Ace Of Spades’ album, half-speed mastered and created from the original master tapes.
* Two double live albums of previously unheard concerts from the “Ace Up Your Sleeve” tour.
*A Fistful Of Instrumentals“: A 10” EP of previously unreleased, instrumental tracks from 1980.
*The Good, The Broke & The Ugly”: A double album of B-sides, outtakes and
*Ace On Your Screens“: A DVD compilation of rare TV appearances from 1980-81, a live concert from 1981 and a 5.1 audio mix of the original album.
* The ‘Ace Of Spades’ story. A 40-page book telling the story of “Ace Of Spades” through previously unpublished interviews with the people that were there. Includes never before seen photos and memorabilia.
* The “Ace Up Your Sleeve” tour program
* The MOTÖRHEAD Rock Commando comic.
* A set of 5 poker dice that can be played on the game board inside the box set lid.
* All encased in a classic Wild West dynamite box.
* A limited edition 7″ reproduction of the Dutch ‘Ace Of Spades’ with a previously unreleased instrumental version on Side B.

With ‘Ace Of Spades,’ MOTÖRHEAD and producer Vic Maile came up with 12 songs that drove home a message of pure, unadulterated fury. Band members Lemmy, Fast Eddie Clarke and Philthy Animal Taylor must have known that they were on the verge of phenomenal popularity, and this was captured in the grooves, and music that stood tall an powerful.

‘Ace Of Spades’ had enormous global impact and 40 years later, continues to resonate and inspire fans worldwide. It remains a hallmark and standard for thrash, speed metal, and punk/metal crossover, and a 40th anniversary tribute is fitting.

Selected highlights of the Box set track listing are shown below. For more information, check the band’s website:

A video trailer of the release can be seen below.

‘Ace Of Spades’
Side One
1. Ace Of Spades
2. Love Me Like A Reptile

Side Two
1. Fire Fire
2. Jailbait

“A Fistful Of Instrumentals”
Side One
1. Ace Of Spades (demo)
2. Hump On Your Back (demo)

Side Two
1. Dirty Love (demo)
2. Love Me Like A Reptile (demo)

“Riders Wearing Black”: Live At Whitla Hall, Belfast – December 23, 1981
Side One
1. Ace Of Spades
2. Stay Clean
3. Over The Top

Side Two
1. (We Are) The Road Crew
2. No Class
3. Bite The Bullet

Side Three
1. Jailbait
2. Leaving Here

Side Four
1. Overkill
2. Bomber

“Dead Man’s Hand”: Live At Parc Expo, Orleans – March 5, 1981
Side One
1. Metropolis
2. Shoot You In The Back

Side Two
1. Fire Fire
2. Love Me Like A Reptile

Side Three
1. Capricorn
2. Too Late, Too Late

Side Four
1. Bite The Bullet
2. The Chase Is Better Than The Catch

The Good, The Broke & The Ugly
Side One
1. Love Me Like A Reptile (Alternative Long Version)
2. Shoot You In The Back (Alternative Version)

Side Two
1. Fire Fire (Alternative Version)
2. Jailbait (Alternative Version)

Side Three
1. Waltz Of The Vampire
2. The Hammer (Alternative Version)

Side Four
1. Love Me Like A Reptile (Alternative Version)
2. Dirty Love (Alternative Version)

“Ace On Your Screens” DVD
Part 1: Motörhead on TV 1980-1981
Part 2: BBC In The City; Live In Belfast ‘81
Part 3: 5.1 audio mix of Ace Of Spades


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.