Electric Ladyland gets box treatment

If there’s one artist whose catalogue is continually mined, it’s Jimi Hendrix. Latest news is that the Jimi Hendrix Experience’s ‘Electric Ladyland will be being reissued as 50th anniversary deluxe box set on Nov. 9. It will be available as a three-CD/Blu-ray set or a six-LP/Blu-ray set. Both packages include the original double album, which has been newly remastered from the original analog tapes.

Initially released on Oct. 16, 1968, ‘Electric Ladyland,’ was the third album by the Jimi Hendrix Experience, the first produced by Hendrix himself and the last studio effort to arrive during his lifetime. It was highlighted by the signature tracks, “Voodoo Child (Slight Return),” “Crosstown Traffic” and his cover of Bob Dylan‘s “All Along the Watchtower.”

The new box set is loaded with highlights: demos and studio outtakes from the era; an expanded documentary on the making of ‘Electric Ladyland’; a book containing handwritten lyrics and unseen photos; ‘Live at the Hollywood Bowl 9/14/68′, a recently discovered two-track soundboard recording that’s part of Experience Hendrix’s Dagger Records official bootleg series; the feature-length documentary ‘At Last … the Beginning: The Making of ‘Electric Ladyland’; and a new 5.1 surround sound mix of the album by original Hendrix engineer Eddie Kramer.

This period found Hendrix expanding his musical sphere with a series of collaborators as his relationship with Experience bassist Noel Redding deteriorated. Jefferson Airplane‘s Jack Casady played bass on “Voodoo Chile.” Other guest stars on ‘Electric Ladyland‘ include Steve Winwood, Chris Wood and Dave Mason of Traffic; Al Kooper; and Hendrix’s future Band of Gypsys bandmate Buddy Miles.

Kramer stated, “’Electric Ladyland’ is a complete work. It’s a body of work that Jimi was in control of right from the beginning. He pushed the limits. This is the definitive album that Jimi created.”

The Jimi Hendrix Experience, ‘Live at the Hollywood Bowl 9/14/68’ Track Listing

“Are You Experienced?”
“Voodoo Child (Slight Return)”
“Red House”
“Foxey Lady”
“Hey Joe”
“Sunshine of Your Love”
“I Won’t Live Today”
“Little Wing”
“Star Spangled Banner”
“Purple Haze”

Source: www.ultimateclassicrock.com

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.