Dream Theater open 2019 tour

The 2019 North American Dream Theater tour that will see them in Montreal on April 5th, opened last night in San Diego. The band’s performance included 19 songs over two sets. The setlist as well as a video can be seen below.

The band’s new album, ‘Distance Over Time,’ was a feature of the show: the concert began with the live premiere of “Untethered Angel,” taken from the new album. Other ‘Distance’ songs featured in the set were, “Paralyzed,” “Barstool Warrior” and “Pale Blue Dot.

The second set primarily focused on the 1999 album ‘Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes From a Memory,’ to acknowledge the 20th anniversary of the album. The band brought back many old songs, some that haven’t been played live in years, and except for an encore of “Pull Me Under,” some that hadn’t been performed since at least 2014.

Guitarist Jon Petrucci explained why Dream Theater wanted to play the ‘Metropolis’ in its entirety. “That was the first record [keyboardist] Jordan Rudess recorded with us when he joined the band, so it was monumental that way, and it was the first record where we self-produced — every record before that, we had an outside producer. It was our first concept album, which was a big undertaking for us.”

Petrucci also spoke about the progression of the band that began with ‘Metropolis,’ “Some of our favorite bands made some of the most incredible concept albums of all time. We don’t want it to be some hack concept. We want to do it right.’ And 20 years later, it turned out to be one of our band’s favorites.”

Dream Theater, Balboa Theatre, San Diego, 3/20/19
Set 1
1. “Untethered Angel” (live premiere)
2. “A Nightmare to Remember”
3. “Paralyzed” (live premiere)
4. “Barstool Warrior” (live premiere)
5. “In the Presence of Enemies, Part I”
6. “Pale Blue Dot” (live premiere)

Set 2: ‘Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes From a Memory’
7. “Regression”
8. “Overture 1928”
9. “Strange Deja Vu”
10. “Through My Words”
11. “Fatal Tragedy”
12. “Beyond This Life”
13. “Through Her Eyes”
14. “Home”
15. “The Dance of Eternity”
16. “One Last Time”
17. “The Spirit Carries On”
18. “Finally Free”
19. “Pull Me Under”

Source: www.ultimateclassicrock.com

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.