Diamond Boy and E’Nuff Z’Nuff

The uninitiated might be surprised to hear that 1980s rockers Enuff Z’Nuff is still going strong. They continue to tour relentlessly, record consistently and have a legion of loyal fans who continue to support the band’s melodic power pop. Proof that they remain a vital act can be seen in the official music video for Diamond Boy,’ the title track of the new album which was released on August 10.

The band has always been the mastermind of bassist/vocalist Chip Z’Nuff, but ‘Diamond Boy’ marks the first record where Z’Nuff handles all of the vocal duties – and he makes it clear that it was a test of endurance: “Singing on the entire album was very challenging,” he says, “I’m taking the place of my brother who was one of the greatest singers of our generation.” Z’nuff stands behind the material on the new album, describing it as “a fresh new chapter that should have been written a long time ago. The songs are solid.” Adding a vivid description, he said, “Picture David Bowie and The Beatles fighting and Cheap Trick comes in to break it up.

Other band members include, longtime guitarist Tory Stoffregen, ex-Ultravox singer/guitarist Tony Fennell, and Chicago native Daniel Benjamin Hill on drums. The band is strutting its stuff on the new record which shows that they remain a truly gifted hard/power pop act, and are intent on proving that ‘Diamond Boy” is another gem in Enuff Z’Nuff’s crown.

Enuff Z’Nuff formed in 1984 in Chicago, Illinois, with founding members Chip Z’Nuff and Donnie Vie, guitarist Derek Frigo and drummer Vikki Foxx. The self-titled debut album spawned two hit singles, “New Thing” and “Fly High Michelle.” It was the high days of MTV, and both songs were in heavy rotation on the new music video channel.

In the 1990s, the band made high-profile appearances on tv with David Letterman and radio with Howard Stern. They were also featured in Rolling Stone’s Hot Issue as “The Next Big Thing.” Those who forgot about the band when music styles changed in the 90’s, might be surprised to learn that they went on to release another 12 studio records.

‘Diamond Boy’ track listing:

2. Diamond Boy
3. Where Did You Go
4. We’re All The Same
5. Fire & Ice
6. Down On Luck
7. Metalheart
8. Love Is On The Line
9. Faith, Hope & Luv
10. Dopesick
11. Imaginary Man

Source: www.blabbermouth.net


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.