Blitz, Portnoy, Menghi, Demmel form BPMD

There’s a new metal supergroup in town, and BPMD is ready to take on all comers.

The group features Overkill vocalist Bobby Blitz, Sons of Apollo drummer Mike Portnoy, Metal Allegiance bassist Mark Menghi and former Machine Head guitarist Phil Demmel.

To get the hype going about their upcoming album of covers, ‘American Made,’ the band has released a video to accompany their take on the Aerosmith classic “Toys in the Attic.” You can see the video in the link below.

In a statement, Blitz spoke about how “Toys” came about: “Way back when Overkill formed, we were cutting our teeth on covers as I was finding my way around the mic. The Aerosmith covers were right in my wheelhouse, so when Mike picked ‘Toys’ to cover, I was, like, hell yeah.”

Demmel added his thoughts about covering guitar parts on “Toys” that were originally done by two guitarists – Joe Perry and Brad Whitford: “It was tricky because Joe and Brad played different things,” he added. “So, I had to pick a medium place between the two that sounded good. I also thrashed it up a little.”

Napalm Records will release ‘American Made’ on June 12. It offered this press release: “With 10 unforgettable rock classics that have been reinterpreted in metal garb, ‘American Made’ is the purest party. BPMD not only capture the essence of every original track on the album but also … the songs transform into metal anthems of a new era.”

BPDM, ‘American Made’ Track Listing
1. “Wang Dang Sweet Poontang”
2. “Toys in the Attic”
3. “Evil”
4. “Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers”
5. “Saturday Night Special”
6. “Tattoo Vampire”
7. “DOA”
8. “Walk Away”
9. “Never in My Life”
10. “We’re an American Band”

Source: www.ultimateclassicrock.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.